Teaching & Learning



The Nine Mile Falls School District, in cooperation with the community, is committed to serving each student. We will educate, challenge, and equip each student to realize his or her potential, and to become a lifelong learner who is a contributing member of society.


We strive for continuous improvement

in all areas of education.

Continuous improvement of an already strong educational program is the focus of the District. Staff engage in ongoing development and improvement of curriculum that is aligned to the Common Core State Standards (CCSS). Additionally, there is an ongoing concentrated effort to improve teaching through weekly Professional Learning Collaboration, which occurs each Thursday morning throughout the District. 

This focused effort to continually improve student learning is demonstrated through results from our District's Measure of Academic Progress (MAP) testing that is done K-9, three times a year, in the classroom setting. MAP scores are used by our teachers to set goals with their students, develop interventions and design instruction.

The Washington Kindergarten Inventory of Developing Skills (WaKIDS) is a transition process that helps to ensure a successful start to the K-12 experience and connect the key adults in a child’s life. In addition, WaKIDS provides a snapshot of where Washington's kindergartners are in their development early in the school year. This data helps inform state and district-level decisions about education policy and investments, and classroom decisions about individualized learning.


We use several indicators

to help prepare our students

for their life long goals.


The Smarter Balanced Assessment Consortium (SBAC) is a standardized test consortium. It creates Common Core State Standards-aligned tests that students take once a year in grades 3 through 8, and 10th grade.

The Washington Comprehensive Assessment of Science (WCAS)measures the level of proficiency that Washington students have achieved based on the Washington State K-12 Science Learning Standards, which are the Next Generation Science.

The SAT is a standardized test that measures a student's skills in three core areas: Critical Reading, Math, and Writing. Students in grades 11 and 12 take the SAT so that they can submit their scores to colleges as part of the college application process.

Advanced Placement AP® tests are college-level exams on specific subjects and are administered in May upon the completion of an AP course taken at a student's high school... In some instances, earning college credit can mean an overall lower college tuition bill.

Nine Mile Falls School District has a tradition of doing well and works hard to maintain steady improvement on the scores each year.